THANK YOU TO OUR 2013 Child Abuse Prevention Activity Sponsors:
The CCC&Y’s Child Abuse Prevention Committee acts as the Regional Child Abuse Prevention Council for Coconino County. It works to raise awareness about child abuse and neglect and increase prevention efforts in the community. Its major projects include:
For more photos of the 2012 Fourth of July Parade, visit:2012 Fourth of July Parade
The CCC&Y also acts as a fiscal agent for the Williams Child Abuse Prevention Council.
Baby Safe Haven
An unharmed newborn infant, 72 hours old or less, can be dropped off anonymously to a voluntary safe haven provider without facing criminal charges. CPS is required to respond and will take custody of the newborn and place the newborn for adoption. The purpose of the law is to prevent baby dumping, giving the baby a chance at life and the mother the comfort of doing the right thing. Every state has some form of a baby safe haven law with the time frame and provider options varying from state to state.
Mandated safe haven providers are on-duty fire fighters, on-duty EMTs, staff at most hospitals, and staff at out-patient health centers with a certain type of license. As of September of 2008, fire stations, hospitals, and qualifying out-patient health centers are required to post a sign indicating that they are a safe haven provider. You can see these signs throughout the Flagstaff community. In addition to mandated providers, the state allows churches, certain private child welfare agencies, and certain adoption agencies to volunteer to serve as a safe haven provider by posting a sign so indicating. The Coalition is not aware of any voluntary safe haven providers in the Flagstaff community.
This law is worthless if not used and will not be used if not in a woman’s consciousness during distress. Increased visibility of the law is required. Since its inception, Arizona has recorded 13 safely abandoned babies while Florida has recorded over one hundred! (The current trend is to increase the window for dropping off a newborn. For example, Vermont allows babies up to 30 days old to be dropped off. )
Two Easy Ways that You Can Help Prevent Child Abuse
Make a donation to the Child Abuse Prevention Fund on your Arizona income tax form.
Go to http://www.servicearizona.com to order your Child Abuse Prevention License Plate.