Caring for Children Awards

Annual Award Winners

Annually, the Coconino Coalition for Children and Youth requests nominations for those who work to make this a better place for our youngest community members.

It has been CCC&Y’s tradition to recognize outstanding individuals throughout Coconino County and honor their commitment to children & youth.

2020/ 2021 Award Recipients

Kailey Jensen
AZ 127

Kelly Elliot
Big Brothers Big Sisters Flagstaff

Marcus Clanton
Victim Witness Services Coconino County

Mark Cox
Boys and Girls Club

Sharon Sifling
Coconino County


2019 Award Recipients

Dani O’Connell
Unit Supervisor Child Welfare Training Project, NAU/DCS

Debbie Winlock
Community Service Director City of Page

Elizabeth C. Archuleta
Coconino County Board of Supervisors

Joe Gutierrez
Principal Killip Elementary

Jose Soto, Coach
Flagstaff Soccer Club/ Flag High School

Shawni Parafiniuk
Youth Shelter Advocate Northland Family Help Center

2018 Award Recipients

Angela Rees
Trauma Therapist & Youth Shelter Clinical Oversight Northland Family Help Center

Coral Evans
Director-Sunnyside and Flagstaff Mayor

Frank Garcia
Principal- Thomas Elementary

Kelly Brown
Clinical Director- Child and Family Support Services

Lina Wallen

Stephanie Jackson
Grand Canyon Youth and Science Teacher, Flagstaff Junior Academy

2017 Award Recipients

Armando and Elva Padilla

Isaac Gabbitas
Coconino County Juvenile Probation

Liz Taylor
Flagstaff Cooperative Preschool

Dr. Pamela Powell

Peggy Murray
CPLC Parenting Arizona

2016 Award Recipients

Sylvia and Stephen Blanchard
Foster Care Advocates

Florina Daniels
Family Advocate, Safe Child Center

Carolyn McCabe
Parent Resource Coordinator, CPLC-Parenting Arizona

Cody McMurry
Pathway Youth Program, Native Americans for Community Action Inc. (NACA)

2015 Award Recipients

Jeanne Crookston
Kindergarten Teacher, Summer School Teacher, & Reading Specialist Lillian “Glory” Clark, Foster Grandparent, FUSD & Childcare Worker Sharon Manor Transitional Housing

Shannon Bryan
Youth Residence Case Manager

Hollie Vargas
Child Sexual Violence Victim Advocate

2014 Award Recipients

Linda Grimsland
FUSD Nurse (FHS)

Denise Henderson
NFHC therapist

Maria Lopez
FACTS at Killip

Molly Sadler
Flagstaff Public Library

2013 Award Recipients

Jan Hayes
FUSD Teacher

Jeanne Yost
Kaibab Learning Center

Linda Dodds
Project C.U.D.D.L.E.

Stephanie Sivak
FUSD Homeless Liaison

2012 Award Recipients

Irene Montano
I.A.M. Youth Group

Bryon A. (Tony) Randall

Marcia Hansen
Flagstaff Public Library

Maggie Weidinger
Club 4Twelve

Sheri Yeider
Flagstaff Medical Center

2011 Award Recipients

Lori Pearlmutter
Flagstaff Medical Center

Judge Margaret
McCullough Coconino County Juvenile Court

Judge Bill Sutton

Vivien Mann
Northland Family Help Center

2010 Award Recipients

Diana Holt
Flagstaff Pediatric Center

Bobby Macias
Christensen Elementary School

Brandon Rawls
Northland Family Help Center

Emma Wharton
Grand Canyon Youth

2009 Award Recipients

Debra Madrigal
The Alternatives Center

Rebecca Lightner
Flagstaff Medical Center

Hannah Dunn
Flagstaff Family Food Center

Karen Mack
Flagstaff Public Library

Cindy May
Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)

Chris Hodsden
Coconino County Juvenile Court

2007 Award Recipients

Geri Duran
NACOG Head Start

Judy Gideon
Foster Parent for High-Risk Infants

Casey Lightfoot
Coconino County Juvenile Probation

Gail Santilli
FMC Safe Child Center

Cathy Uno
The Guidance Center

2006 Award Recipients

Arleta LeBrun
FMC Behavioral Health Services

Kay Bordwell
Grand Canyon School District

René Hobbs
NACOG Head Start

Helen Evans
Foster Grandparent Program

Tre Reader
Kinship Kare Network of Northern Arizona

2005 Award Recipients

Samantha Begaye
Healthy Families Program – Page

Stephanie Gariano
Family Builders Program, Arizona’s Children Assn.

Marie Tsosie
NACA Youth Substance Abuse Counselor

Marvin & Linda Hamman
Foster Parents

2004 Award Recipients

Kaisha Peterson
Juvenile Court Prevention Program

Alice Schriener
Foster Grandparents Program

Mary Del Giorgio
Foster Grandparents Program

Samantha Honani
Kinlani Bordertown Dormitory

Jennifer Hernandez
Coconino County Tobacco Prevention Program

2003 Award Recipients

Hannah Dunn
Flagstaff Family Food Center

Vivian Bronston
Healthy Families Program – Page

Sissy Hickman
The Guidance Center

Cathy Vandenberg
Parenting Arizona

Reed Elmore
Northland Family Help Center

David Roth
Coconino High School